Alan Lancaster, founder, and bassist of Status Quo died yesterday at the age of 72 in Sydney. He did so after failing to win the battle against multiple sclerosis. Born in 1949 in London, he founded in 1962, at the age of 13, The Scorpions together with Francis Rossi. Later, already with Rick Parfitt and John Coughlan, he decided to form Status Quo band in which he played bass and sang a good part of his classics.

Around 1985, due to a series of legal discussions, he left the ship until in 2013 he made a glorious reunion tour in which he could be seen quite affected by health, but without lacking the elegance and class that he always had.

During his years outside of Status Quo, he was a member of The Bombers and The Party Boys. He released his first solo album in 1999 under the title Life after Quo. His 16 albums with Status Quo, his personality, and his undoubted charisma served him to become a guy with whom you identified just by seeing him.

He brought a wild touch, some of his songs were ahead of rock trends and he always maintained a glorious attitude on stage. It was the counterweight between Rossi and Parfitt, always making the records more balanced and much more complete.

Rest in peace the immense Alan Lancaster, one of those musicians who carried rock in his veins and for whom we have a huge amount of material left to enjoy his work.

Studio album with Status Quo

  • Picturesque Matchstickable Messages from the Status Quo (1968)
  • Spare Parts (1969)
  • But Kelly’s Greasy Spoon (1970)
  • Dog of Two Head (1971)
  • Piledriver (1972) UK # 5
  • Hello! (1973) UK # 1
  • Quo (1974) UK # 2
  • On the Level (1975) UK # 1
  • Blue for You (1976) UK # 1
  • Rockin ‘All Over the World (1977) UK # 5
  • If You Can’t Stand the Heat (1978) UK # 3
  • Whatever You Want (1979) UK # 3
  • Just Supposin ‘ (1980) UK # 4
  • Never Too Late (1981) UK # 2
  • 1 + 9 + 8 + 2 = XX (1982) UK # 1
  • Back to Back (1983) UK # 9

Live with Status Quo

  • Live! (1977) UK # 3
  • Live at the NEC (1984) (first included in the 1982 From the Makers of box set , then released as a single album in 1984)
  • Status Quo Live at the BBC (2010)

Collections with the Status Quo

  • 12 Gold Bars (1980) UK # 3
  • From the Makers of (1982) UK # 4
  • 12 Gold Bars Vol. 2 (1984) UK # 12

Studio album with The Party Boys

The Party Boys (album)

Amelia Warner– After graduating from NYU with a master's degree in history, She was also a columnist for many local newspapers. Amelia Warner mostly covers Entertainment topics, but at times loves to write about movie reviews as well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *